Essay 1

By: Nayeli Cardenas

Hi! My name is Nayeli Cardenas. I am 18 years old. I was born and raised in Garden City Kansas. My mother is originally from Puebla, Mexico, but she came to the United States about twenty-two years ago. I have one older brother. He did the welding Program at Garden City Community College. We have a dog named Pumi and she is about one year old. I graduated from Garden City high school in May of 2021. I graduated high school an entire year early as a junior. I should have graduated in May of 2022. I participated in the garden city high school orchestra all three years I attended. I play the violin. I have been playing the violin since I was ten years old. I also worked at Sonic Drive-in and then at Walmart while in high school. I now work as a CNA at an assisted living center. I currently attend Garden City Community College and I am majoring in Biology. I am a part of Garden City Community College Orchestra, Student Support Services (SSS), and Hispanic and Latino Organization (HALO). I also do a work study and I work as a tutor. I tutor college math, beginning algebra, intermediate algebra, college algebra, biology 1, and college chemistry 1. I plan to transfer to Wichita state university to get my bachelors in biology. My hobbies included reading, napping, playing the guitar, and walking my dog. I love going up to the mountains as often as I can.

To access the room block by phone use “Ogallala Commons Room Block” at:  (806) 803-5514

To reserve online use this link to book your group rate for Ogallala Commons

If you need help with your reservation call (806) 803-5500 for assistance.