Introductory Post
June 11, 2015

My parents are from Chihuahua, Mexico, but moved to El Paso, Texas before I was born. We lived in El Paso for six years before moving to Colorado. I recently graduated from Metro State University of Denver with a Bachelor of Science in criminal justice and criminology. I also have a minor in psychology. Since moving to Colorado, I have gained an interest in outdoor activities like fishing, hiking, and camping. I also enjoy visiting other places, like museums and the Denver zoo, and I really enjoy spending time with friends. I aspire to work in the criminal justice field, specifically in law enforcement until I am able to go to law school. Then, I will most likely go into a legal field that is geared more towards helping farmers or the environment. I am passionate about social justice, and racial and gender equality. I believe this internship will help me be better connected, not only to the communities of big cities, but to rural areas too. Through this internship, I hope to gain a better understanding of agriculture, and the issues facing rural/reservation based communities and what we can do to help. With my background in criminal justice I also want to better understand the role that the government has in the rural communities and how they can help. It would be great to put this internship on my resume for any future career after my graduation so I can continue to contribute to the missions of Ogallala Commons and First Nations.

image 376708_485403711487338_2122755206_n